jump to navigation

Honoring our family heroes May 30, 2010

Posted by Jack Macholl in Freedom, Veterans.
trackback

The great thing about blogs is they’re your space- so today the post is something completely non-marketing related. 

As I was driving alone in my American made car, quiet, unimpeded, listening to the satellite radio, I saw a VFW Vet selling poppies at the corner of Higgins and Cumberland (for those of you familiar with Chicago-a dangerous corner near the Kennedy Expressway). Then it struck me- this is freedom and here’s a guy (who had to be at least 80)  I should be thanking for this luxury-so I did.  Just a few bucks, but more importantly a from the heart thank you-he smiled and said “you’re welcome kid” I really like that part…

This weekend it’s not really about picnics, barbeques or Memorial Day weekend sales, it’s about the freedom we enjoy thanks to the sacrifices made by generations of veterans. The brave people who did what they had to do to preserve the liberties and freedoms that are often taken for granted here in the USA.

In my family two heroes come to mind; first my late father, Norm Macholl, Corporal US Army-Korean War 1950-53. In the “forgotten war” fought in South Korea 36,574 “in theater” deaths occurred. My dad was one of the lucky ones who made it home to lead his life after three years of unplanned service time. 

The other family vet was my late cousin, David Avers a great young guy that passed through my life from 1970-1996. Dave enlisted in the Marine Corps and proudly served in the first Gulf War during the early 1990’s. Upon his safe return home he landed his dream job, a member of the Chicago Police Department. His service training and tenacity made him a great cop-the kind that would put his life on the line to protect. An untimely traffic accident took his young life, but not before he gave more than some people do in an entire lifetime.

Just two examples of men who lived at different times, accepted their missions and helped get the job done. They didn’t expect parades or other honors, they “did what they had to do and headed home.”

As for myself and many men in my age bracket, we didn’t get the call. The Vietnam War was in the de-escalation mode by 1973 and “peacetime” was our way of life; insulating me and many of my friends from the life altering events previous generations have been drafted and required to experience.  I’ve enjoyed a good life so far, no lost family time or vanquished earning years in the military. Good fortune because of the foundation laid by men and women who fought two world wars and UN “police actions” since the beginning of the twentieth century.

Tomorrow I’ll hang the flag on the front porch, probably get the back yard plants in and maybe enjoy the sunny day doing something, I have choices-freedom, for which I am quite thankful.

If you see a veteran tomorrow or anytime for that matter, say thanks, they deserve it.

Comments»

1. Harry Kewell - May 31, 2010

nice information for me, just looking this from google, thx

2. Tim Tompkins - May 30, 2010

Love the great comments Jack.

I didn’t know when I was growing up that I was the 13th generation in the United States. My family has served faithfully throughout these many years. My father’s ship was blow up 2 days outside of Pearl Harbor in WWII… My grandfathers served in WWI and several uncles were lost in the trenches in France. Several uncles also served in Vietnam and Korea. We even go past the civil war and revolutionary war with forefathers. I even have a 2nd generation forefather that killed a infamous indian chief and was award a golden rifle during one of the King’s wars. I myself served in the Gulf war. Duty Honor Country…I am flying a flag that flew over Iraq on my front porch tomorrow. It may be a little faded, edges a little frayed, but in my eyes it is freedom….

Jack Macholl - May 31, 2010

Tim the history in your family just underscores the meaning of this Memorial Day. Thank you for serving buddy.


Leave a Reply

